Help Me With...

Select from list
My Residential Property
My Driver's License or Vehicle Registration
Requesting Assistance
Getting Outdoors
Health Department


Select from list
My Property Valuation
Understanding My Valuation
Paying My Property Tax
Neighborhood Sales
Building Permits
Vehicle Registration - New Stickers
Vehicle Registration - New Vehicle
Drivers License - New or Renew
New Resident Vehicle Registration
Adult Protection
Child Welfare
Child Support
Child Care
Financial Assistance
Medical Assistance
Food Assistance
Decode Douglas County
Open Space Special Event Permits
Open Space Properties and Trails
Park Reservations
Parks and Trails
Register to Vote / Update Voter Registration
Upcoming Election Information
Ballot Drop Box Locations
Voter Service and Polling Centers
Birth Certificates
Death Certificates
Environmental Health
Household Waste Management


× Close
School Safety

Physical School Safety & Protection Funding Committee

Timeline – May 7, 2019 through January 2020

Following the May 7, 2019, STEM School shooting, the Board of Douglas County Commissioners, at their May 28, 2019 public hearing, unanimously approved a resolution appropriating $13.3 million for school security and mental health services for students in Douglas County.  Of the $13.3 million, the Board appropriated $10 million of unassigned General Fund balance as one-time funding for school safety, including entry-way security technology in schools, and mental health services for children.

Additional resolutions adopted by the Board at the May 28 public hearing established two committees charged with making recommendations for the expenditure of the one-time $10 million – the Physical School Safety & Protection Funding Committee and the Supportive Mental Health for Students Funding Committee.  Through the establishment of these committees, the Board recognized the importance of receiving input from key partners, including the Douglas County School District (DCSD), charter and private schools, Douglas County law enforcement, and citizens with expertise in physical school safety and mental health.

The Physical School Safety & Protection Funding Committee consisted of nine (9) members:

  • Five (5) members appointed by the Board of County Commissioners
    • Clint Dorris – Citizen Appointee
    • Mike Dell’Orfano – South Metro Fire
    • Nicole Hunt – Citizen Appointee
    • Kory Nelson – Citizen Appointee
    • Steven Bradburn – Homeland Security
  • Two (2) members recommended by the Douglas County School Board
    • Rich Payne – DCSD Director of School Safety and Security
    • Lori Bachtel – SkyView Academy
  • Two (2) members recommended by Douglas County law enforcement agencies
    • Holly Nicholson – Kluth – Douglas County Undersheriff
    • Jack Cauley – Castle Rock Police Chief

The Committees worked through June 2019 with a goal to formulate its recommendations and supporting documentation to the Board of County Commissioners by July 3, 2019, with a possible extension to July 15, 2019.

The Board of County Commissioners held a Special Work Session, on Tuesday, July 16 to hear funding recommendations and status reports regarding plans for the $13.3 million. Watch videoView the Committee’s presentation to the Board of Douglas County Commissioners.

On August 7, 2019, County launches process for schools’ access to $10 million in mental health and school safety funds  Funding requests for eligible projects and services were due by 5 p.m. on Sept. 17, 2019.

On Sept. 18, 2019, the Commissioner announced “Remarkable Response” to Douglas County’s $10 million commitment to schools,  Requests represent majority of neighborhood, charter, and private schools in the County

On Nov. 21, 2019, the Board of Douglas County Commissioners, via a live-streamed news conference, delivered their Report to the Community announcing Physical School Safety and Mental Health for Students Funding Decisions.  View the presentation.

On Jan. 14, 2020, the Commissioners awarded $6.8 million to Douglas County School District and additional funds of $7.7 million for physical school safety and $990,000 to support mental health for students. The remaining $1.3 million of the total $10 million was set aside by the Commissioners for innovation and emerging technology.  Intergovernmental Agreement (IGA)of $6,823,182 between Douglas County and the Douglas County School District

View Meeting Agendas / Minutes, click on meetings on the top toolbar, select Physical School Safety and Protection Funding Committee, and select 2019.