E-470’s Board of Directors voted unanimously to reaffirm the ExpressToll rate freeze first implemented on January 1, 2018. The decision keeps 2017 toll rates in place for ExpressToll drivers on E-470 through 2020.

The original November 2017 decision of the Board to freeze ExpressToll rates through 2020, pending annual Board approval, marked the first time since the 47-mile user-financed roadway opened that tolls have been frozen. The decision also included a reduction of the ExpressToll rate at Toll Plaza C (between I-70 and Pena Boulevard) by $0.25. The reduced rate will stay in effect again in 2020.

“Due to E-470’s conservative fiscal policy and organizational management, as well as increased use of the E-470 toll road, the Board is again able to keep tolls unchanged for the coming year,” said Roger Partridge, Chair, Board of Douglas County Commissioners and E-470 Board member.

In addition to freezing ExpressToll rates in 2020, the E-470 Board of Directors also voted to freeze License Plate Toll (LPT) rates in 2020 at 2019 levels. Additionally, the Board voted to move forward with the implementation of a two-year pilot program, to begin January 1, 2020, for an ExpressToll rate restructure for 3+ axle motorists on E-470. The rate restructure includes a five percent rate reduction for all multi-axle rates and an additional time of day rate reduction for 3+ axle ExpressToll customers.

The 2020 toll rate freeze and 3+ axle rate adjustment reflect the commitment of E-470 to remain fiscally responsible while supporting and improving the customer experience. According to E-470 Executive Director Tim Stewart, “The E-470 Board of directors and leadership continue to be proactive in monitoring local market conditions that allow the Authority to implement policies that represent value and savings to E-470 customers.”

E-470 is the 75-mph toll road running along the eastern perimeter of the Denver metropolitan area. E-470 is a user-financed roadway, receiving no local, state or federal funds for financing, construction, operations or maintenance. E-470 is a political sub-division of the state governed by the E-470 Public Highway Authority Board composed of eight local governments including Adams, Arapahoe and Douglas counties, and the municipalities of Aurora, Brighton, Commerce City, Parker and Thornton. E-470 also operates ExpressToll, the all-electronic toll collection system available on E-470, Northwest Parkway, and Colorado’s Express Lanes.

For more information on the benefits of ExpressToll or how to open an account, visit ExpressToll.com or call 303-537-3470.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *